Parish Councillor's come from various backgrounds and give their time freely to represent the views of all residents within the Parish; to listen to and understand the views and needs of different groups in the community.
Whilst elections are scheduled to take place every four years (next 2023) each year the Council elects a Chairman and Vice-Chairman to oversee the conduct at meetings.
Councillors are accessible to residents to listen to their concerns and to deal with them or to pass them for action to the appropriate authorities directly, please use the contact details below:
Cllr David Steed
01449 737991
Cllr Les Basham
01449 737079
Cllr Emily Byam
Cllr Michael Drury
07816 508965
Cllr Chris Hall
01449 737671
Cllr Scott Martin
Cllr Graham Mitchell-Rowlands
Suffolk County Councillor: Penny Otton

Districy Councillor: Nicky Willshere:

Councillors roles

The Parish Council have one committee set up for staffing matters which is served by the Parish Council Chairman, Vice Chairman and one other Clouncillor. The remaining tasks are held by Parish Councillors and members of the public; these roles will be reviewed at the Annual Parish Council meeting.

Asset management - Chris Hall (by resolution 150523/29)

Risk Assesment and Polices-Chris Hall and Graham Mitchell-Rowlands (by resolution 150523/30)

Playing Field - Michael Drury (by resolution 150523/31)

Road Safety - Les Basham (by resolution 150523/32)

Footpath Officer - Graham Mitchell-Rowlands (by resolution 150523/33)

Tree Warden - Michael Drury (by resolution 150523/34)


Meet your Parish Clerk

The Clerk to the Council is the Proper Officer of the Council and as such is under a statutory duty to carry out all the functions incuding  to serve or issue all the notifications required by law of a local Authority’s Proper Officer, to advise and assist the Council in the formation of policies to be followed in respect of the Parish Councils activities producing information required for making effective decisions and to implement constructively all decisions made.

The Clerk is responsible for ensuring that the instructions of the Council in connection with its function as a Local Authority are carried out.

The Clerk is also the Responsible Financial Officer for Buxhall and therefore is responsible for all financial records of the Council and the careful administration of its finances.

The Council is responsible for all decisions and must be confident the Clerk acts at all  times in an independent, professional and objective matter. 

The Clerk takes instructions from the Council as a body not from any individual Councillor.

Contact Details 

Tina Newell

25 Shakespeare Road, Stowmarket, Suffolk. IP14 1TU.

Telephone: 07767 163706